Dionisios G Vlachos

Dionisios Vlachos
  • Allan & Myra Ferguson Chair of Chemical Engineering
  • Director, Catalysis Center for Energy Innovation

University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware 19716
302-831-1048 (fax)

  • Doctorate - 1992 University of Minnesota
  • Masters - 1990 University of Minnesota
  • Bachelors - 1987 National Technical University of Athens

"Our research group leads the development of hierarchical, multiscale models and simulations, including high throughput computing and machine learning, and their validation with experiments over a multitude of length and time scales. Our application research portfolio encompasses catalysis, rational design of catalysts, sustainable energy, portable microchemical devices for power and chemical generation, process intensification and modularization, fuels and chemicals from biomass via thermochemical routes, detailed reaction mechanism and kinetic model development, reactor design, and nanomaterials."

XSelected Publications

For a complete listing of publications, please view the Full CV.
  1. J. E. Sutton, W. Guo, M. A. Katsoulakis and D. G. Vlachos, "Effects of correlated parameters and uncertainty in electronic-structure-based chemical kinetic modelling", Nature Chem 8, 331, (2016)
  2. Z. B. Zhuang, S. A. Giles, J. Zheng, G. R. Jenness, S. Caratzoulas, D. G. Vlachos, and Y. S. Yan, "Nickel supported on nitrogen-doped carbon nanotubes as hydrogen oxidation reaction catalyst in alkaline electrolyte", Nature Communications 7, (2016)
  3. W. Guo, and D. G. Vlachos, "Patched bimetallic surfaces are active catalysts for ammonia decomposition", Nature Communications 6, 8619, (2015)
  4. M. Nunez, and D. G. Vlachos, "Steady state likelihood ratio sensitivity analysis for stiff kinetic Monte Carlo simulations", Journal of Chemical Physics 142(4), 7, (2015)
  5. R. E. Patet, N. Nikbin, C. L. Williams, S. K. Green, C.-C. Chang, W. Fan, S. Caratzoulas, P. J. Dauenhauer, and D. G. Vlachos, "Kinetic Regime Change in the Tandem Dehydrative Aromatization of Furan Diels-Alder Products", ACS Catal. 5(4), 2367, (2015)
  6. T. D. Swift, H. Nguyen, A. Anderko, V. Nikolakis, and D. G. Vlachos, "Tandem Lewis/Bronsted homogeneous acid catalysis: conversion of glucose to 5-hydoxymethylfurfural in an aqueous chromium(III) chloride and hydrochloric acid solution", Green Chemistry 17(10), 4725, (2015)
  7. V. Choudhary, S. H. Mushrif, C. Ho, A. Anderko, V. Nikolakis, N. S. Marinkovic, A. I. Frenkel, S. I. Sandler, and D. G. Vlachos, "Insights into the Interplay of Lewis and Br?nsted Acid Catalysts in Glucose and Fructose Conversion to 5-(Hydroxymethyl)furfural and Levulinic Acid in Aqueous Media", J. Am. Chem. Soc. 135(10), 3997, (2013)
  8. M. Salciccioli, M. Stamatakis, S. Caratzoulas, and D. G. Vlachos, "A review of multiscale modeling of metal-catalyzed reactions: Mechanism development for complexity and emergent behavior", Chem. Eng. Sci. 66, 4319, (2011)
  9. D. A. Hansgen, D. G. Vlachos, and J. G. Chen, "Using first principles to predict bimetallic catalysts for the ammonia decomposition reaction", Nature Chem 2(5), 484, (2010)
  10. Z. Lai, G. Bonilla, G. Nery, I. Diaz-Carretero, K. Sujaoti, M.A. Amat, E. Kokkoli, O. Terasaki, R.W. Thompson, M. Tsapatsis, D.G. Vlachos, "Microstructural optimization of a zeolite membrane for organic vapor separation", Science 300, 456, (2003)


XSelected Awards

For a complete listing of awards, please view the Full CV.
  1. Executive Editor (Chemical Engineering Science: 2011)
  2. AAAS Fellow (American Association for the Advancement of Science: 2009)
  3. Elizabeth Inez Kelley Professorship of Chemical Engineering (University of Delaware: 2009)
  4. Top 100 Engineers (Int. Biographical Centre: 2009)
  5. George Piercy Distinguished Visiting Professorship ( Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Department, University of Minnesota: 2007)
  6. Chemical Engineering Science Most Cited 2003-2006 Paper Award, for the paper of "Mesoscopic modeling of transport and reaction in microporous crystalline membranes", Chem. Engng Sci. 58, 895-901 (2003) by M. A. Snyder, D. G. Vlachos, and M. A. Katsoulakis: 2003
  7. Provost's Merit Award (University of Delaware: 2002 - 2003)
  8. Outstanding Advisor Service Award (College of Engineering, University of Massachusetts: 1997)
  9. Outstanding Junior Faculty Award (College of Engineering, University of Massachusetts: 1997)
  10. National Science Foundation Career Award (National Science Foundation: 1997)

Bookmark and Share