Eric M Furst

Eric Furst
  • Department Chair
  • Professor

229 CLB
University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware 19716
302-831-1048 (fax)

  • Post-Doctorate - 2001 Institut Curie, Paris, France
  • Doctorate - 2000 Stanford University
  • Masters - 1996 Stanford University
  • Bachelors - 1995 Carnegie Mellon University

"Research in the Furst Group focuses on the physics and chemistry underlying the behavior of colloidal, polymeric, biomolecular, and other "soft" materials. Our efforts concentrate on investigations of structure, interactions and material response through the development of novel experimental techniques. These include optical tweezers, confocal microscopy, and passive and active microrheology. Applications of interest include nanomaterials for energy conversion, complex fluids engineering, and biotechnology. Many of the interesting problems we currently work on stem from close partnerships with industry and national laboratories."

XSelected Publications

For a complete listing of publications, please view the Full CV.
  1. T. A. Prileszky and E. M. Furst, "Fluid networks assembled from endoskeletal droplets", Chem. Mater. 28, 3734, (2016)
  2. K. A. Whitaker and E. M. Furst, "Bond rupture between colloidal particles with a depletion interaction", J. Rheol. 60, 517, (2016)
  3. L. L. Josephson, W. J. Galush and E. M. Furst, "Particle tracking microrheology of protein solutions", J. Rheol. 60, 531, (2016)
  4. J. W. Swan, P. A. Vasquez and E. M. Furst, "Buckling instability of self-assembled colloidal columns", Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 138301, (2014)
  5. P. J. Beltramo, D. Schneider, G. Fytas and E. M. Furst, "Anisotropic hypersonic phonon propaga- tion in films of aligned ellipsoids", Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 205503, (2014)
  6. J. W. Swan, P. A. Vasquez, P. A. Whitson, E. M. Fincke, K. Wakata, S. H. Magnus, F. De Winne, M. R. Barratt, J. H. Agui, R. D. Green, N. R. Hall, D. Y. Bohman, C. T. Bunnell, A. P. Gast and E. M. Furst, "Multi-scale kinetics of a field-directed colloidal phase transition", Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 109, 16023, (2012)
  7. J. W. Swan, M. M. Shindel and E. M. Furst, "Measuring thermal rupture force distributions from an ensemble of trajectories", Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 198302, (2012)
  8. J. D. Forster, J. G. Park, M. Mittal, H. Noh, C. F. Schreck, C. S. O'Hern, H. Cao, E. M. Furst and E. R. Dufresne, "Assembly of optical scale dumbbells into dense photonic crystals", ACS Nano 5, 6695, (2011)
  9. M. Grzelczak, J. Vermant, E. M. Furst and L. M. Liz-Marzan, "Directed self-assembly of nanoparticles", ACS Nano 4, 3591, (2010)
  10. T. H. Larsen and E. M. Furst, "Microrheology of the liquid-solid transition during gelation", Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 146001, (2008)


  1. ():

XSelected Awards

For a complete listing of awards, please view the Full CV.
  1. Chaire Joliot, Ecole Superieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (ESPCI), Paris: 2014
  2. Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal (NASA: 2014)
  3. Fellow (American Chemical Society: 2014)
  4. Top Application from the International Space Station (American Astronautical Society: 2013)
  5. Distinguished Lindsay Lecture (Department of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M University: 2013)
  6. Soft Matter Lectureship Award: 2013
  7. Excellence in Undergraduate Advising and Mentoring Award (University of Delaware: 2013)
  8. Senior Thesis Mentor Award (University of Delaware: 2013)
  9. Chaire Joliot Visiting Professor, Laboratoire PMMH, ESPCI, Paris: 2010
  10. Invited Participant (National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering: 2009)

Bookmark and Share